what a champ!

First things first: You’ve seen the dress, if you recall it’s a royal blue/purple color. Now my debate is what shoes to wear with it. I tried to get pics of them, but apparently Charlotte Russe only has the black ones available in nude now, and the Santana ones look… not silver. Plus, oddly enough, the heights listed online are different than mine. Strange! Apologies for the terrible pictures, but hopefully enough to give you an idea:

For the specs: Silver are Carlos by Carlos Santana Prestige, bought last year for my sister’s wedding. They are suuuuper tall and high, difficult to squeeze my feet into, do not come off and involve mucho pain the next day.

However. They are 5 inches high, and I’m 5’3.  They make my legs/stomach/ass/boobs/face look fantastic. (Perhaps a slight exaggeration, but i look bomb.) And while I’m actually wearing them, they are pretty comfy (at the wedding I danced until 2am). Plus they make the dress look slightly more summery and fun, and make pedicured toes look adorable!

The blacks are my $20 go-to heels for all occasions: Charlotte Russe Faux-Patent Peep Toe Pump (they’re are an older version so not quite the same). I wear them all the time, always get compliments, are super comfy while wearing them and the next day it just feels like I did a hill workout– so its practically like exercising, right??

Downside, they are a little beat up, but nothing some black nail polish won’t cover up. Also they do not show off my pedi at all. And I wore them to the wedding last week. I think you can tell which way I’m leaning, but I need input… HELP!!!

Anywho, I obviously spent a good chunk of today trying both shoes on with the dress while avoiding what I was supposed to be doing: packing up all my stuff to move on my last free day before I actually have to move!

Other exciting alternatives…

(heart Annie’s Organics and esp this Annie’s Homegrown Natural Shells and Real Aged Cheddar!)

Then some actual packing followed by measuring my new place to make sure all my sweet stuff can fit.

One of my least favorite parts of moving is taking down my favorite wall decoration, my bulletin board. I’ve had some incarnation of this reminder of all my favorites since college, and every time I move I take down the whole thing, pack most of it in the scrapbox, and leave just a few staples to remind me of where I came from. I recently gave it an update in anticipation of this move, but you can believe it will be the last thing to leave the room!

As a reward for all my hard work, I invited a friend over for dinner!

Tessa opened up the bottle of Honey Moon Viogner I got at TJs the other day (here’s a review if you’re into that sort of thing), enjoyed my awesome appetizers of 3 shrimp and a chocolate-banana-straw/blueberry smoothie. She was really excited to try one of my smoothies after this post the other day, so obvs I had to make her one. She was not disappointed!

While she drank up, I got busy on our delish dinner plans: shrimp and chicken enchiladas! They are super easy and I wowed Tessa with how I just made them and didn’t check a recipe… and made some modifications on the fly!

Seriously easy:

  1. thaw/cook/shred chicken
  2. toss garlic + onion (to taste) in a pan with some olive oil
  3. add enchilada sauce (I love Old El Paso), shredded chicken, and cheese
  4. warm and stir occasionally
  5. pour some extra enchilada sauce in a baking dish, coat tortillas on both sides.
  6. spoon chicken mixture into tortillas, wrap up, and coat with more sauce + cheese
  7. bake for 20ish mins at about 350.

seriously. (have you seen this site?)

Then, because I’m adventurous, I also made shrimp enchiladas. No really good picture of this one cuz I was too busy eating it, but I’ve got the combo plate:

I had to go a different route with the shrimp, so I layered the shrimp/sauce mix with half tortillas in a small dish and topped that with some cheese… resulted in a much messier but equally delish final product.

Add in some asparagus and you’ve got yourself a dinner of champions! (I’m calling her a champion even though she forgot to put the wine into the fridge… hence the ice cubes :/)

Have a sweet day! This girl has to get busy taking out the trash, exchanging my dress for the right size, buying a card, deciding if I should get another spray tan, working a double… what a busy life!

Peace out, girl scout!

5 thoughts on “what a champ!

  1. You two crack me up!

  2. haha damn you for that picture! and the ice cube comment…great wine though, i will admit!

  3. Thank you for a great post.

  4. Pingback: $7 for $15 Worth of Authentic Mexican Fare at Mucho Margaritas » Get your daily Groupon deals

Leave a Reply

