Living by Loving Guest Post

Today, I have a special treat!

It’s the 20sb Blog Swap, so I have a traded blogs with a lovely lady named Allyce, and she’s posting here while I post over on her blog. I’ve blogged about 2 of my favorite summer treats, so make sure you check it out. Hope you enjoy getting to know Allyce…

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Hi lovely readers of Erin’s blog!

My name is Allyce and I’m the writer of Living By Loving.

Erin and I are blog swapping today, and I’m equally thrilled to have her guest posting at my corner of blogland!  Make sure you visit my blog to read her post!  Don’t forget to comment so she knows which of you dedicated readers of hers visited her guest post!

You overachievers, you!

Before we get to the meat and potatoes, let me tell you a bit about myself!

Like I said, my name is Allyce and I’m 25.
I’m married to my best friend and love of my life, Matt.

We live in Northern, Indiana.  Life here is good :)

We DON’T have kids, but we DO have a Cockapoo named Mylie

I’m a 3rd grade teacher.

I’ve taught 3rd grade for 4 years and love each new year more and more than the last.

I’ve been blogging since forever.

I love football and sweatshirts and kettle corn.

Forget this.  If you want to know more about me, visit the blog. :)

Being a teacher, I’m spoiled having my summers off!  School starts TODAY…as you read this.  Which means that summer is officially over.

Let this be a tribute to one amazing summer!

Can’t get this mind of mine off of summer.  It was here for a while and it’ll be gone WAY too soon.  It’s a sad reality.  My dream is to move somewhere with summer all year around. Sorry Lake Michigan.  Your boring water animals, unsaltiness and lack of waves just doesn’t cut it for me.  I’m from Indiana, so we get the extremes of every season and of every type of weather.

As a tribute to that Topsail beach that I miss VERY MUCH, today I’m writing a “What You Didn’t Know” post dedicated to the beach.

Lucky you, beach.

#1.

I can’t swim.

Yes, you read right.

I’ve never been a swimmer and I’m still not.  I took swim lessons with preschoolers when I was in MIDDLE SCHOOL folks.  My embarrassment caused me to quit early..still not knowing the breaststroke, butterfly or beating those 4 year olds by holding my breath.  I CAN go under without plugging my nose, but I can’t hold my breath so I blow out of my nose.  Needless to say, I’m never under water longer than 10 seconds because I’ve blown out all the air I have.

I’m proudly not the most glamorous swimmer, but I do sport a mean backstroke.

So, I’m not the one you’d see boogy boarding away my troubles on the cresting waves in fear that I wouldn’t be able to get out of an undertow or rip current.

I make buddies with the kiddos swimming in 2 feet of water. The thought has crossed my mind to wear water wings but I think it might bring down my reputation a bit..you know?!

Actually that is me.  The one lagging behind.  Staying in the “safe” zone.

#2.

My new obsession is beach glass.

Beach Glass (for those of you who DON’T know…you’re about to!) is

Beach glass is glass found on beaches along oceans, bays, rivers or large lakes that has been tumbled and smoothed by the waves, water and sand, creating smooth, frosted shards of glass

It’s like finding a rare treasure along the shore.

We found 4 pieces.

#3.

I have several beach/sand annoyances…let me list a few…

a.  when a stranger decides to camp out her family just feet from you.  I believe there’s a WIDE OPEN beach for you.  But I’ll take it as a compliment because you apparently want to hang out with me.

My book reading is really enticing apparently!

b.  when someone shakes their towel downwind from you.  Thanks to that recent sunscreen application, I’ve now become a piece of human sandpaper.

c. my BIGGEST beach annoyance is when I see someone walking the beach wearing SOCKS and shoes.

It makes me cringe thinking about it.  Socks and sand really don’t mix.

#4.

I’m a people watcher.

Don’t get creeped out, I’m NOT one of the creepy people watchers.. but the greatest fun I have is watching people interact and “be”.  My “fun meter” must be pretty lame huh?!

The way I see it, there are people from all over in one central place and I find it entertaining to observe them interacting with their kids and families.

Some people do some of the strangest things on the beach….for example one morning while sipping coffee on our balcony we see this lovely gentleman doing a little Thai-Chi action.

This was much more entertaining to watch than Regis and Kelly.

Cheap entertainment.

Little by little you’ll know everything and MORE beyond your wildest dreams about little ol’ me if you check out my blog over at Living By Loving

I know there’s a WHOLE LOTTA stuff the world doesn’t know about you!

Come check out my blog and join in on the fun during my link up!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Thanks for the post, Allyce! And welcome to all of her readers. Feel free to stick around and see the sights right here!

2 thoughts on “Living by Loving Guest Post

  1. Who doesn’t look hot in water wings? LOL

  2. The idea of your blog is extremely fresh, I am without doubt that the folks that come across your blogs surely like your content and points of view.

Leave a Reply

