Let’s do this!

After 8 million attempts to start a blog, I’m trying again… and really hoping this one sticks! I read tons of blogs every day and am always subscribing to new ones (thank goodness for google reader!), so I have plenty of people who inspire me to do this. Now I just have to inspire myself.

Luckily,Ā  I feel like today is a good day to start a new blog: I have the day off work, went grocery shopping, made lunch, got pampered AND have a big weekend coming up, aka lots of good stories and pictures!

So, first up: grocery shopping. I’m getting ready to move into a new house, so I’m excited to get back to making real food again. I always want to try the recipes from edible perspective and peas and thank you, but the last few weeks I’ve been in a rut. I’m trying to ease myself back into it and step one is grocery shopping instead of eating out every day!

Since I’m buying groceries, I want to keep track of what I’m spending to control things a little bit. Since this was the first trip in a while, I bought some booze AND I got a bottle of wine for a gift, it was higher than I expected. Hopefully I can keep it a bit lower than this. This is a pretty typical grocery load for me: apples, bananas, pears, spinach, broccoli, cucumber, asparagus, almond milk, skim milk, protein powder, ham. I wanted to try a few new things today, so I grabbed a couple of different types of yogurt, brie, multigrain slims, Berry mango bran muffins, coconut milk chocolate ice cream (dairy ice cream makes me sick so i’m always looking for alternatives) and egg whites. I’m already envisioning tomorrow’s breakfast, so stay tuned!

I got home stoked to try my new foods, and started with lunch: ChocoStrawNana Protein Smoothie and sampler platter!

I Usually make smoothies almost every day. I follow a pretty standard recipie and the only thing that changes is what fruits I use. Occacionally I toss in some additional mixins– today I wanted to try the ice cream so I decided to make it chocolate.

My recipie is

  • 1/2 cup Almond milk (+/- depending on how thick you like yours),
  • 1 serving of protein powder (I like this Aria Women’s Protein from Trader Joe’s),
  • 1.5-2 cups of fruit,
  • a splash of skim milk

Today I added 1/4 cup of the Chocolate Coconut Milk ice cream, and used 1 LARGE banana and about 12 small strawberries as the fruit. Since I go through fruit so quickly, I tend to prefer frozen or seasonal to keep costs down– but always unsweetened. I don’t need all that extra sugar!

As if all that wasn’t enough, I had myself a little sampler platter, peanut butter jenny-style!

On today’s menu:

  • wedge of French brie ($5 at Trader Joe’s!)
  • 1/2 TJs Berry-Mango Bran Muffin
  • carrot cut into sticks
  • spoonful Athenos roasted garlic hummus
  • 1/4 D’Anjou pear (My favorite!!)

And after… admiring my sweet new spray tan (first time ever, it was 20 bucks at my favorite spa with my wax today!) and my dress for the wedding next week. I’m so pretty!

I’ve decided to never be not tan again. Sadly I have yet to figure out a setup to get good full length pictures of me, but this is the dress:

I think it looks a lot better on than in the pic but you can get the idea. I’m bummed I have to wait a whole week to wear it– tomorrow’s wedding gets a different dress, but the same awesome spray tan, and a matching pedi!

What do you think– would you ever try a spray tan?

4 thoughts on “Let’s do this!

  1. What a beautiful picture of yourself Erin!

  2. wow! I am amazed at these pictures! you’re quite the photographer. I especially like the pic of the girl in the yellow šŸ™‚ she’s a cutie

    • haha its about time you read it. i was about to actually put your info up just to make you see if it was true! Now back to my nap… šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

