Erin Eats!

As promised, a whole week’s worth of (photographed) food!

This was a week of some experimenting, so I actually am really bummed I didn’t get this up sooner. First, I moved so I was trying to use what I had around the house before I went out and stocked up on food so the first few days were not very pretty, but I do have my first eat-what’s-in-the-fridge meal of the week: buffalo tuna salad.

I worked at a popular chain restaurant up until last October, and I’m still somewhat addicted to their buffalo sauce. I know it would be super easy for me to make it myself, but what’s the point in that if friends will bring you 8 oz tubs of it? Yum.

Checking out the cupboards I had tuna, egg whites, cheese, and buffalo sauce. I love me a good tuna salad sandwich, and every once in a while I get crazy and toss in hardboiled eggs. The original plan was tuna on a sandwich thin topped with buffalo scrambled whites, but then I got creative.

I made the buffalo eggs and then softened some tofutti and mixed the two together with a can of tuna. No miracle whip but I have tofutti? What a nerd.

End result: two forks up! As you can see I stole a smear of the roomie’s miracle whip (light, ew) and mustard for some extra flavor. Next time I’d sub dijon and add some spinach and a tomato for some more color, but I will definitely be making this again!

I think I mentioned this when I made the asparagus fries, but I am an avid reader of Ashley’s blog, The Edible Perspective. I discovered her during the Project Foodbuzz contest last year but got hooked for good when she started trying to figure out what was best for her body to eat. Since my body hates me and I can’t eat 98% of delicious food (ice cream and wings, this means you), looking at some of the stuff she has done has really helped me identify alternatives and look at creative ways to find new definitions of delicious food.

The other day when I was grocery shopping, I found some masa harina for a dollar and I remembered she had mentioned using it a few times so I figured I would pick it up and do some experimenting with corn bread.

Lesson learned: stick to the recipe the first time, then make modifications.

1. Not unlike my previous meal situation, I had masa harina on hand but no eggs. Forgetting that eggs were the leavening agent in this particular recipe and not just the liquid, I thought applesauce would be an acceptable substitute and that I’d just get a slightly sweeter final product. FALSE. despite making a pretty picture, this was a total fail.

2. Peanut butter and cinnamon helped save this weirdly apple-corn flavored mush. But I still couldn’t finish it all.

3. In the spirit of experimentation, I decided to make a more correct version using egg whites and masa harina. This actually turned out correctly and became bread instead of mush! Unfortuantely, I wasn’t a huge fan of the flavor, and added more PB, cinnamon, and chili powder to spice it up.

4. My fail-breakfast. But man was that water tasty!

Like I said, lesson learned on this one. I would be interested to see how much of a difference the millet makes, and now that I’ve stocked up I may give this another shot. It was a little bland for me, though, so I would definitely include some spices in there and pick up some honey to top it off. I’ll keep you posted on that!

Next up: birthday goodies!

(mom making my amazing birthday cake!)

Apparently I forgot to take a photo of the finished product, but hopefully she did!

Growing up my family had a favorite bakery that we got all our birthday/anniversary cakes from every year. This place specialized in multicolored layer cakes, including the ever-popular rainbow cake that we all still love. After a few years of pink-and-purple layer cakes, I switched to the much more “adult” alternative of almond-flavored white cake with cherry filling.

Though the bakery is now closed (luckily my family holds the rights to all the recipes) and we can’t have the cakes on a regular basis anymore, my mom said she would attempt an alternative. Enter: 3-layer almond flavored white cake with strawberry jam filling (cherry was not good) and light pink buttercream frosting! So good!

I already gave you some photos of the party eats (MYO fruit kebabs with mango, watermelon, canteloupe, strawberries and pineapple, cocktail shrimp, chips, s’mores, cake, and rocky road brownies), but this is an approximation of what I ate that day.

AKA a smore, a brownie, a piece of cake, and about 15 kebabs! My fruit intake has drastically increased over the last few days. For this party I cut up 2 lbs of berries, a whole pineapple, half a watermelon, a whole cantaloupe, and a mango… enough fruit to last a lifetime.

Or at least enough to become a MONSTER smoothie.

In the name of scientific accuracy, I measured the glass. That’s a 24+ ounce power lunch, once you add in the protein powder and ice. And it’s 100% delicious!

p.s. the 5 a day challenge is my goal for the rest of June, to eat 5 servings of fruit and veggies per day, as part of Project Veg-Up! I’m also adding a secondary goal based on my biggest struggle:

I picked up a veg I’ve been curious about for a long time, swiss chard. I’m going to try using it for lunch tomorrow, so cross your fingers it goes well!

After the longest post EVER, I’m signing off. Stay tuned to find out how my watermelon sorbet turned out!

3 thoughts on “Erin Eats!

  1. Yay project Veg-Up! Word of advice: do not try to eat Swiss chard raw. I learned that the hard way last summer :o)

  2. Wow. Thank you for such a sweet shout out in your post. That means so much to hear I’ve helped you in your food journey. Sorry you didn’t like the masa harina flavor. 😦 You can probably use the rest up making baked cornbread, with cornmeal and/or flour. Good luck figuring everything out with your body. It’s hard, but totally worth it!!

  3. Pingback: $7 for $15 Worth of American Fare at The Loft Cafe » Get your daily Groupon deals

Leave a Reply

