Long time, no see!

Soooo… I’ve been mia for the last few days/5 weeks, and am back with some awesome excuses and a roundup of my life since then… And then I hope to be back for good!

I may have mentioned before going all MIA on you that I was going out of town for a week for classes. I’m working on getting my teaching certificate/masters in education right now, and for this class I had to be in a town about 90 mins away for class 8-2 every day… So I moved in with a friend for a week. This seems like it should give me plenty of time to blog, but instead after class each day I spent 8 or more hours working on the 10 in depth assignments I had to complete.

I looked like this for a week.

Then I came back home, and finished doing those assignments for another week (Good news, I got an A!). THEN, I went to another super-fun class the following week. (I got an A in that one too!).

Then I worked a lot, and got another job and worked even more. And now here we are 5 weeks later!

And now, for your viewing pleasure: a photo post of the last 3 weeks of my life. Words coming soon!

Story of my life: polish, polish, polish, set. repeat!

Best. Thing. Ever. First time cooking millet: boiled per directions, mixed up with carrots, corn, and 1 egg white. At the end add in swiss chard (another first!) and wilt for a minute, throw on top of spinach and CHOW!

I have an unhealthy obsession with Le Creuset. EVERYTHING they make. In fact, the only thing stopping me from buying their entire catalog is that I don’t know what color my future kitchen will be and I don’t want my pans to clash. Problems? My roomie may not be buying brand name yet, but this little gem is inspiring to make my first purchase: a Mini Round Cocette. So perfect for individual cornbread bakes… or peach cobblers! Now I just have to pick a color… đŸ™‚

Like I said, It’s great for cornbread. Another Edible Perspective modification, and this one was suuuuper delish. Unfortunately, the only thing I remember was for sure in it was corn, masa harina, a sprinkle of cheese in + another one on top, and lots of salsa!

This little baby was the fuel behind my marathon cooking day: A mint julep! This is one of my favorite drinks, and I didn’t get to have one this year for the actual Derby. So once I finally bought some mint, this was a necessity. Yummmmmmm!

On the menu for the cooking day: cucumber gazpacho with shrimp and melon, quinoa stir-fry, millet deliciousness (see above), quinoa with tomato and leeks. Aka my menu for my week away. BTW, Gazpacho was a fail, I thought the mint was overwhelming and I couldn’t blend it smooth enough. The stir-fry and millet were both freaking amazing (obvs since they were essentially the same thing. ps. first time also on the quinoa and YUM!). The tomato/leek quinoa dish was ok… I didn’t love it but I definitely didn’t hate it. Overall the week’s eating was pretty good!

If you were working on a master’s like me, you could spend all your time coloring like me!

Main Street in my college town… I clearly went to school in a booming metropolis. That first building was our favorite bar, Someplace Else.

Part of the trip was also forgoing my college standby of Cristina’s Mexican Food since bestie wasn’t with me and trying the new place in town, Gladys. (Crete is a mill town with a very high Hispanic population, so the Mexican is extra good!) Sadly, this place was a big fat MEH. It was ok but definitely won’t be going back… I’m convinced that Cristina’s is the place for me! Also, the elephant is a shoutout to Young House Love: I read the post about Sherry’s “Elephant in the Room” dream like 2 hours before I went out to eat… and saw that. Hilarious!

Class, Part 2: More Coloring!

And after a hiatus of a few weeks due to extreme poverty and laziness, my first meal back:

Hand-cut and seasoned potatoes bought 15 minutes earlier at a corner produce stand, with a breaded (corn meal, whole wheat flour, spices) buffalo chicken sandwich.

Yummy! And even better once you finish it with this:

Peach Cobbler! Just the way I learned in Germany: fruit (fresh produce stand peaches) tossed with a pinch of sugar and cinnamon, a bottom crust of these awesome animal cookies from Baker’s bulk bins, and top crust of butter, sugar and WW flour, pressed into circles and laid over the top. AH-MA-ZING! This was seriously one of the most delicious things I’ve ever eaten. So good!

And there, In a very large nutshell, is the majority of my last 5 weeks. Hopefully now I will be back on a regular basis so you can get your dose of Erin!

I’d love to hear from you in the comments if you’re still reading… Let me know what you like and what you don’t, and what you want to see!

Looooooove,

Leave a Reply

